Team of the Year Announced

Airmen in the Airborne Operations career field are the Air Force’s 2012 Team of the Year. These airmen “operate systems essential to fulfill Air Force missions, they teach and train students with a high level of competency, and they represent exceptional professionalism, expertise, and leadership,” said Sandy Schlitt, Air Force Association Chairman of the Board, in the association’s release. He added, “We are thrilled to have the opportunity to honor them.” Each year, the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force leads a group of command chief master sergeants that chooses a specific Air Force career field for this honor and then selects individual members within that career field for special recognition. This year, those members are: MSgt. Michael Sailer, AC-130H instructor sensor operator for the 551st Special Operations Squadron at Cannon AFB, N.M.; TSgt. Scott C. May, evaluator airborne operations technician for the 129th Combat Training Squadron at Robins AFB, Ga.; SrA. Kathleen I. Eliseo, sensor operator for the 4th SOS at Hurlburt Field, Fla.; SrA. Jared S. Kordos, E-3 AWACS airborne surveillance technician at Tinker AFB, Okla.; and SrA. David M. Pederson, instructor sensor operator at the 489th Reconnaissance Squadron, Beale AFB, Calif. AFA will host a reception on April 30 in Arlington, Va., to pay tribute to these airmen.