The 2009 Outstanding Airmen

Members of a selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center at Randolph AFB, Tex., have identified the service’s 12 Outstanding Airmen for 2009 from a slate of 33 nominees. They are:

SMSgt. Mary Bechdel, RAF Molesworth, England

SMSgt. Jeffery Steagall, Peterson AFB, Colo.

MSgt. Tyrone Bingham, Offutt AFB, Neb.

MSgt. Christopher Pollock, Kadena AB, Japan

TSgt. John Carter, RAF Mildenhall, England

TSgt. Manuel Herrera, Scott AFB, Ill.

TSgt. Benjamin Horton, Hill AFB, Utah

TSgt. Jennifer Laufer, Maxwell AFB, Ala.

TSgt. Marisol Lozada, Cannon AFB, N.M.

SSgt. Johanna Aviles, Los Angeles AFB, Calif.

SrA. Channel Bolton-Scholl, McChord AFB, Wash.

SrA. Alexander Royal, Peterson AFB, Colo.

Air Force Association officials will honor the 12 airmen during AFA’s Air & Space Conference and Technology Exposition, Sept. 14-16, 2009, at the Gaylord National in Washington, D.C. The 12 airmen will also serve as members of AFA’s enlisted advisory council for the next year.