Outstanding Airmen of the Year

The Air Force has announced the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2016. They include SMSgt. Mark Farmer, Air National Guard; SMSgt. Jeremiah Grisham, Air Force District of Washington; SMSgt. Rebecca McNelley, Air Force Global Strike Command; MSgt. Marcus Mader, Air Force Special Operations Command; TSgt. Michael Asuncion, Jr., Air Force Space Command; TSgt. Sharry Barnshaw, Air Mobility Command; TSgt. Cassandra Cruz, Air Education and Training Command; SSgt. Raquel Caramanno, Air Force Materiel Command; SSgt. Derek Miles, US Air Forces in Europe-Air Forces Africa; SSgt. Aaron Tobler, Air Force Reserve Command; SSgt. Jamie Zimmer, Air Combat Command; SrA. Jasmin Figueroa, Pacific Air Forces. An Air Force selection board chose the candidates from 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies, and Headquarters Air Force, according to a USAF release. The airmen were chosen “based on superior leadership, job performance, and personal achievements,” states the release. (Read about the 2015 Airmen of the Year.)