Now, the Nuclear Bomber Force

Now, the Nuclear Bomber Force: Air Force Global Strike Command took responsibility Feb. 1 for B-2 and B-52 units from Air Combat Command, two months after taking over the ICBM force from Air Force Space Command. AFGSC now comprises 8th Air Force at Barksdale AFB, La., and its three bomber wings—B-52 units at Barksdale and Minot AFB, N.D., and a B-2 unit at Whiteman AFB, Mo.—and 20th AF at F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo., which oversees three ICBM wings at F.E. Warren, Malmstrom AFB, Mont., and Minot. On the bomber transfer, AFGSC boss Lt. Gen. Frank Klotz said, “We’ve worked very closely with Gen. Will Fraser and his ACC team every step of the way.” He continued, “Even after Feb. 1, we’ll still have strong and long-standing ties to ACC as we work closely with them in their special role as lead command for the Combat Air Forces.” (AFGSC release)