EOD Specialists Form Air Force Team of Year

Air Force and Air Force Association officials on Friday announced the selection of the Explosive Ordnance Disposal career field as the 2009 Team of the Year, naming the five EOD airmen who are to represent the field. They are:

¡SMSgt. Gus Hamilton III, EOD superintendent with the 835th Civil Engineer Squadron at Ramstein AB, Germany;

¡ TSgt. Heath Tempel, NCO in charge of EOD flight operations, 354th CES, Eielson AFB, Alaska;

¡SSgt. Phillip Dyer, EOD craftsman, 325th CES, Tyndall AFB, Fla.;

¡ SrA. Cooper Gibson, EOD journeyman, 4th CES, Seymour-Johnson AFB, N.C.; and

¡ SrA. Jasmine Nakayama, EOD journeyman, 75th Air Base Wing, Hill AFB, Utah.

AFA works with the Office of the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force and the command chiefs at major commands to select the year’s career field. The airmen selected to represent their field are slated to attend an April 6 presentation ceremony in Washington, D.C.