Eleven Nations Publically Condemn Use of Chemical Weapons in Syria

The White House released a joint statement on Friday, signed by leaders of 11 nations participating in the G-20 summit in St. Petersburg, condemning “in the strongest terms” the use of chemical weapons in Syria last month. “The evidence clearly points to the Syrian government being responsible for the attack,” reads the Sept. 6 statement. It calls for a stronger international response and says the world must send “a clear message that this kind of atrocity can never be repeated.” The governments of the United States, Australia, Britain, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Spain, and Turkey signed the document. “Signatories have consistently supported a strong UN Security Council resolution, given the Security Council’s responsibilities to lead the international response, but recognize that the council remains paralyzed as it has been for two and a half years,” reads the statement. “The world cannot wait for endless failed processes that can only lead to increased suffering in Syria and regional instability.” The document offers support to the United States in its effort “to reinforce the prohibition on the use of chemical weapons.” It continues, “We are committed to a political solution which will result in a united, inclusive and democratic Syria.”