After Comey, Who is Left?

FBI Director James Comey lost his job May 9, 2017, when President Donald Trump fired him. Here Comey addresses the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) National Leadership Summit on May 8, 2017, in Washington, D.C. Photo from C-Span.

President Donald Trump fired FBI Director James Comey Tuesday in the latest clash between the Intelligence Community (IC) and the White House.

Trump based his decision on recommendations by Attorney General Jeff Sessions and Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein, who argued in a three-page letter to Trump that Comey acted outside his authorities by speaking directly to the press about the investigation into Hillary Clinton’s use of a private email server.

Comey was sworn in as FBI director in September 2013. Andrew McCabe, the FBI’s deputy director since January 2016, will become acting director until Comey’s replacement is appointed.

The firing is the latest ember in a fiery relationship between Trump’s new administration and the IC.

In mid-February, news outlets announced that the White House planned a broad review of American intelligence agencies.

The news came the same day Trump blamed the IC for leaks resulting in his National Security Advisor Michael T. Flynn’s resignation.

The next day, the FBI released 398 pages of documents connected to a 1973 Justice Department lawsuit against Trump that alleged housing discrimination by his real estate company in New York City.

Tensions between the President and the IC have been high since before the election, so what exactly is this community?

Simply put, the IC is a group of 16 intelligence agencies or departments, like the FBI and NSA, and the overseer of them all is the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. The ODNI, created by 2004 legislation, exists to integrate efforts, make operations efficient, and communicate succinctly with the White House.

Trump chose former Republican Sen. Dan Coats of Indiana to be his Director of National Intelligence, and the Senate confirmed him in mid-March.

The DNI’s budget is broken into two parts. A DNI spokesperson told Air Force Magazine the office doesn’t disclose details about its budget or how it’s allocated among the intel community, nor how many employees each component has.

For 2016, DNI requested $53.9 billion for its national intelligence program, or the part of the budget addressing the Intelligence Community. It received $53 billion. The Military Intelligence Program top line budget request for Fiscal 2017 is $16.8 billion—a nearly $2 billion increase from the top line first announced in February 2016, the Department of Defense announced on May 9.

Below, we break out each of the Intelligence Community members alphabetically.

Intelligence Community Agency


Headed By

Office of the Director of National Intelligence

2004 Dan Coats

Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance

Lt. Gen. VeraLinn “Dash” Jamieson, USAF

Army Intelligence

1885 Lt. Gen. Robert P. Ashley Jr., USA

Central Intelligence Agency

1947 Michael R. Pompeo

Coast Guard Intelligence

2001 Rear Adm. Robert P. Hayes

Defense Intelligence Agency

1961 Lt. Gen. Vincent R. Stewart, USMC

Department of Energy’s Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence

2006 Steven K. Black

Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Intelligence and Analysis

2005 Patricia F. S. Cogswell

Department of State’s Bureau of Intelligence and Research

1947 Daniel B. Smith

Department of Treasury’s Office of Intelligence and Analysis

2004 Daniel McGlynn (acting)

Drug Enforcement Administration’s Office of National Security Intelligence

2006 Doug Poole

Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Intelligence Branch

2014 Joshua D. Skule

Marine Corps Intelligence

1939 Brig. Gen. William H. Seely III, USMC

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

2003 Robert Cardillo

National Reconnaissance Office

1961 Betty J. Sapp

National Security Agency/Central Security Service

1952 Adm. Michael S. Rogers

Naval Intelligence

1882 Vice Adm. Jan Tighe?