USO Honors USAF MOH Recipients

The USO presented its Distinguished Service Award to the five living Air Force Medal of Honor recipients Dec. 9 during the Metropolitan New York USO’s 48th Annual Armed Forces Gala and Gold Medal Dinner in New York City. On hand for the award were Col. Bernard Fisher, Col. James Fleming, Col. Joe Jackson, and Col. Leo Thorsness. Also receiving the USO award, but not on hand, was Col. Bud Day. The USO award recognizes exemplary leadership and service to the armed forces. Also at the gala, Capt. Justin Conelli, with Air Force Special Operations Command’s 21st Special Tactics Squadron at Pope AFB, N.C., was named USO Airman of the Year. (Air Force release) (From Air Force Magazine’s archive, read Valor articles on Day, Fisher, Fleming, Jackson, and Thorsness.)