It’s Official

What we reported in June as being on the horizon is now done deal: The Air Force’s three ICBM wings have formally reverted to their pre-1997 designation as missile wings to more accurately reflect their function. Accordingly, the 90th Space Wing at F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo., 91st Space Wing at Minot AFB, N.D., and 341st Space Wing at Malmstrom AFB, Mont., are now known as the 90th Missile Wing, 91st Missile Wing, and 341st Missile Wing, respectively, as of July 1. “Someone said a long time ago, history gives you perspective, but heritage gives you pride,” Gen. Robert Kehler, AFSPC commander, said on the designation changes recently. Gen. Michael Moseley, Chief of Staff, announced the change on June 6. It was one of many that the Air Force is undertaking to re-emphasize the importance of its nuclear mission. (Includes Peterson report by Ed White)