News Release

Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson

10480 22nd Avenue, Suite 123, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson (907) 552-8151

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Release Number: 2010-07-06-07

July 30, 2010

Airmen killed in C-17 crash identified

JOINT BASE ELMENDORF-RICHARDSON, Alaska – Majors Michael Freyholtz and

Aaron Malone, pilots assigned to the Alaska Air National Guard's 249th Airlift Squadron, Capt.

Jeffrey Hill, a pilot assigned to Elmendorf's 517th Airlift Squadron, and Master Sgt. Thomas

Cicardo, 249th Airlift Squadron loadmaster, were killed in the C-17 crash on Elmendorf July 28.

"We come to work with immense sorrow after four of our fellow airmen lost their lives in

the C-17 crash at Elmendorf AFB Wednesday," said Brig. Gen. Charles E. "Chuck" Foster,

176th Wing commander, Alaska Air National Guard. "They were more than valued Airmen:

They were our teammates, friends, family members and fellow Alaskans. We mourn their loss

and share the deep sadness of their families."

"These fallen warriors embody the pride and professionalism of American Airmen," said

Col. John McMullen, 3rd Wing commander. "They selflessly served their country and will be

sorely missed by our entire Arctic Warrior family."

A board of officers is investigating the accident.

-30-