

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Griffith

703-416-4888 Ext 104, sgriffith@naa.aero

Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System Team to Receive the 2018 Robert J. Collier Trophy

Washington, DC, April 5, 2019 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is pleased to announce that the Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System (Auto GCAS) Team has been named the recipient of the 2018 Robert J. Collier Trophy for "... successfully completing a rapid design, integration, and flight test of critical, lifesaving technology for the worldwide F-35 fleet."

The Collier Trophy is awarded annually "...for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year." The list of Collier recipients represents a timeline of air and space achievements, marking major events in the history of flight.

"I am so proud of the entire Auto GCAS Team and their commitment and dedication to saving lives through this revolutionary technology," expressed Mark Wilkins, Senior Aviation Safety Analyst, Office of Secretary of Defense for Personnel Readiness and Safety. "We are truly honored to be recognized with such a prestigious award and deeply humbled considering the aviation greats who won previously."

"I want to congratulate the Auto GCAS team on winning the 2018 Collier Trophy," said Greg Principato, President and CEO, NAA. "The Collier Trophy was established more than a century ago to encourage the best minds in this country to continually find ways to advance and improve aviation. The Auto GCAS team, which includes Lockheed Martin, the U.S. Air Force, the F-35 Joint Program Office; NASA and the Defense Safety Oversight Council; is a sterling example of a project that brought together the best minds from many disciplines. The result is a game changing advance in safety that has already changed military aviation and can one day change the game for everyone."

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee, comprised of 30 aviation and aerospace professionals, convened on April 4, 2019 to hear presentations from 11 nominees.

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee:

Clay McConnell, Airbus

Richard Aboulafia, Teal Group Terry McVenes, RTCA

Jim Albaugh, Chairman, NAA Mary Miller, BBA Aviation

Brett Alexander, Blue Origin Mary Claire Murphy, Textron

Ed Bolen, NBAA Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne

Chris Brunner, Pratt & Whitney Eric Pierce, Lockheed Martin

George Carneal, Legal Counsel, NAA Donald Pointer, Dassault Falcon

Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace Peter Prowitt, GE Aviation

Greta Lundeberg, The Boeing Company Bill Readdy, Discovery Partners International

Duane Hawkins, Spirit Aerosystems Mark Rector, Honda Aircraft Company

Ray Johns, FlightSafety International Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group

Carl Johnson, Treasurer, NAA Darryl Roberson, Rolls-Royce, North America

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Shelly Simi, NASAO

Samantha Magill, AIAA Alyssa Ten Eyck, Embraer

Sandy Magnus, Executive Director Emeritus, Read Van de Water, Safran USA

AIAA Brian Wynne, AUVSI

The Collier Trophy will be formally presented at the Annual Robert J. Collier Trophy Dinner on June 13, 2019 in Washington D.C. For more information or to view a complete list of previous recipients of the Collier Trophy, please visit www.naa.aero.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America's aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.

#